Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Safe Batteries for the German Energy Turnaround

BrennendeZelle
Explosion of a li-ion cell
Batteriebrand
Battery module after safety testing
BMS-Platine
Battery Management System (BMS) for safety monitoring of cells

Lithium-ion batteries can be very efficient, reliable and safe energy storage systems. For their use in electric vehicles they have to pass strict safety tests and their functionality is tested over tens of thousands of kilometers. This is however completely different for stationary PV home storage systems with Li-ion batteries, where there are critical safety loopholes with regards to standardization. There are also no standardized and sufficiently meaningful tests of the cycle life of these products.

 

At KIT, safety tests with commercially available home storage systems have been carried out in 2014 and revealed partially safety problems. As a consequence, producers, associations and testing institutes developed a safety guideline for Li-ion home storage systems with support of KIT.

 

Within the project SafetyFirst, security tests performed 20 commercial home storage systems.

 

For the safety of Li-ion batteries, KIT offers a wide service portfolio of consulting and analysis within the field of transport regulations as well as cell and system safety. In addition, the Battery Technical Center participates in various committees for the standard regulations, safety requirements, testing principles and guidelines for Li-ion home storage batteries.

 

Further information:

Safety guideline Li-ion home storage systems

KIT checklist for home storage systems

Service portfolio of KIT on battery safety

Summary on standards and regulations

Video on safety

FAQ

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Sichere Batterien für die Energiewende

BrennendeZelle
Brand einer Li-ionen Zelle
Batteriebrand
Batterie nach Sicherheitsuntersuchungen
BMS-Platine
Batterie Management System (BMS) zur Sicherheitsüberwachung von Zellen

Lithium-Ionen-Batterien können extrem effiziente, zuverlässige und sichere Energiespeicher mit hoher Lebensdauer sein. In Elektrofahrzeuge werden sie nach aufwendiger Entwicklung erst eingebaut, nachdem sie strengste Sicherheitstests bestanden haben und die Funktionstüchtigkeit über zehntausende Kilometer auf der Teststrecke bewiesen ist. Anders im Fall von stationären Photovoltaik-Heimspeichern mit Lithium-Ionen-Batterien, wo in der Praxis und Normung zum Teil kritische Sicherheitslücken vorliegen. Ebenso gibt es bisher noch keine standardisierten und genügend aussagekräftigen Lebensdauertests für diese Produkte.

 

Am KIT wurden 2014 Sicherheitstests mit kommerziell verfügbaren Heimspeichersystemen durchgeführt und teilweise Sicherheitsmängel aufgedeckt. Als Folge der Untersuchung haben Hersteller, Verbände und Prüfinstitute unter Mitwirkung des KIT einen Sicherheitsleitfaden für Heimspeichersysteme entwickelt und zur Verfügung gestellt.

 

Im Rahmen des Projektes Safety First werden derzeit Sicherheitstests an 20 kommerziellen Heimspeichersystemen durchgeführt.

 

Für die Sicherheit von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien bietet das KIT ein breites Spektrum an Beratungs- und Analysedienstleistungen im Bereich der Transportvorschriften sowie der Zell- und Systemsicherheit an. Zudem wirkt das Batterietechnikum in verschiedenen Gremien für die Normvorschriften, Sicherheitsanforderungen, Prüfungsgrundsätzen und Richtlinien von Li-Ionen Heimspeichern mit.

 

 

Weitere Informationen:

Sicherheitsleitfaden Lithium-Ionen Hausspeicher

Leistungsspektrum des KIT zum Thema Batterie-Sicherheit

Zusammenfassung zu Normen und Standards

KIT-Checkliste Li-Ionen Heimspeicher

Video zum Thema Sicherheit

FAQ