Storage System Performance

KIT ETI
Efficiency of the power conversion path “battery discharging” as a function of the rated output power [1]
KIT ETI
System efficiency for a reference year [1]
KIT ETI
Energy losses for a reference year [1]

The increase in electricity prices along with a decrease in the price of storage systems has led to a rapid expansion of the photovoltaic (PV) home storage system market, particularly in Germany. In order to be economically viable, PV home storage systems must fulfil certain performance criteria. The overall performance and achievable self-sufficiency ratio of a PV battery home storage system depends on the efficiencies of the system components, the standby consumption, the reaction time of the home storage system as well as the intelligence of the overall system control software. So far, PV home storage system still show very big differences in their performance. However, poor system performance can result in the system being no longer economically viable.

Since 2015, investigations have been carried out in the Battery Technology Center to evaluate and systematically assess the efficiency of PV home storage systems. This was done, among other things, as part of the project Safety First and now as part of the projects Testbench and Perform. For this purpose, the systems are integrated into a hardware-in-the-loop test environment developed at KIT and various tests are carried out, such as determining the available capacity of the storage system or efficiency measurements of the individual components. Among other things, the measurements take place based on reference days for reference households. Furthermore, measurements of the energy conversion paths (battery charging, battery discharging, PV direct feed-in), the battery efficiency and the control performance are carried out according to the efficiency guidelines for home storage systems of the German Energy Storage Association (BVES) and the German Solar Industry Association (BSW Solar).

Thanks to the numerous activities, the Battery Technology Center has gained a high expertise in this field and offers home storage measurements according to the efficiency guidelines for the industry.


Further Information:

Contact: Nina Munzke, Felix Büchle

[1] Munzke, N.; Schwarz, B.; Büchle, F.; Hiller, M. Evaluation of the Efficiency and Resulting Electrical and Economic Losses of Photovoltaic Home Storage Systems. J. Energy Storage 2021, 33, 101724, doi:10.1016/j.est.2020.101724.

Speicherperformance

KIT ETI
Wirkungsgrad des Leistungswandlungspfades Batterieentladen in Abhängigkeit der Bemessungsausgangsleistung [1]
KIT ETI
Systemwirkungsgrad für ein Referenzjahr [1]
KIT ETI
Energieverluste für ein Referenzjahr [1]

Der Anstieg der Strompreise bei gleichzeitig sinkenden Preisen für Speichersysteme hat, insbesondere in Deutschland, zu einer rasanten Expansion des Marktes für Photovoltaik (PV)-Heimspeichersysteme geführt. Um wirtschaftlich attraktiv zu sein, müssen PV-Heimspeichersysteme bestimmte Anforderungen an ihre Performance erfüllen. Die Performance des Gesamtsystems und der erreichbare Autarkiegrad eines PV-Heimspeichersystems sind abhängig von den Wirkungsgraden der Systemkomponenten, dem Standby-Verbrauch, der Reaktionszeit des Heimspeichersystems sowie der Intelligenz der übergeordneten Systemsteuerung. Bislang weisen PV-Heimspeichersysteme noch sehr große Unterschiede in ihrer Performance auf. Eine schlechte Systemperformance kann jedoch dazu führen, dass das System nicht mehr wirtschaftlich ist.

Im Batterietechnikum werden seit 2015 Untersuchungen zur Evaluation und systematischen Bewertung der Effizienz von PV-Heimspeichersystemen durchgeführt. Dies erfolgte u.a. im Rahmen des Projekts Safety First und jetzt im Rahmen der Projekte Testbench und Perform. Hierfür werden die Systeme in eine am KIT entwickelte Hardware-in-the-Loop Testumgebung integriert und verschiedene Tests wie z.B. die Bestimmung der verfügbaren Kapazität des Speichersystems oder Wirkungsgradmessungen der einzelnen Komponenten durchgeführt. Die Messungen finden u.a. anhand von Typtagen für Referenzhaushalte statt. Weiterhin werden Messungen der Energiewandlungspfade (Batterieladen, Batterieentladen, PV-Direkteinspeisung), des Batteriewirkungsgrades und der Regelgüte gemäß dem Effizienzleitfaden für Heimspeichersysteme des Bundesverbands Energiespeicher (BVES) und des Bundesverbands Solarwirtschaft (BSW Solar) durchgeführt.

Dank der vielzähligen Aktivitäten hat das Batterietechnikum inzwischen eine große Expertise in diesem Bereich aufgebaut und bietet für die Industrie Heimspeichervermessungen anhand des Effizienzleitfadens an.


Weitere Informationen:

Ansprechpartner: Nina Munzke, Felix Büchle

[1] Munzke, N.; Schwarz, B.; Büchle, F.; Hiller, M. Evaluation of the Efficiency and Resulting Electrical and Economic Losses of Photovoltaic Home Storage Systems. J. Energy Storage 2021, 33, 101724, doi:10.1016/j.est.2020.101724.