Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Energy Storage Systems in Application

Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI) - Energy Storage Systems

The Institute of Electrical Engineering (ETI) with its Energy Storage Systems Department carries out research and development work at the Battery Technology Center of KIT, from battery development to overall system integration.

Within the battery system development, optimizations of assembly and disassembly are carried out for the uniform and safe commissioning of storage systems. The reliable control of thermal stress as well as innovative and application-oriented power electronics down to the cell level also play an important role in system development. The BMS algorithms, including forecasting software, will also optimized.

In addition to battery system development, overall system integration is the focus of R&D works at ETI. All subsystem data is recorded centrally and intelligent control and regulation of the entire system is developed. At the same time, an optimization of the power electronics for the grid integration of storage systems is taking place to improve the control of grid feed-in, island operations and the provision of grid services. The intelligently linked energy systems and sector couplings with integrated energy storage systems are an essential part of the research. In addition, the ETI is developing and setting up large-scale prototypes up to very small series of storage systems.

In order to investigate the safety and efficiency of home storage systems, a test infrastructure for these systems was set up at the EIT. The functional validation of stationary storage systems will be integrated into state-of-the-art hardware-in-the-loop test benches, which represents a unique measurement procedure. In addition, more than 100 photovoltaic test systems, inverters from various manufacturers and load simulations are integrated into the solar storage facility and have been investigated since commissioning in 2013.

 

Further information on the individual research areas of the ETI:

Stationary Storage Systems

Safety of Home Storage Systems

Large-Scale Storage eLab 2.0

Solar Power Storage Park

Redox-Flow-System

E-City Bus Demonstrator

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Energiespeichersysteme in der Anwendung

Elektrotechnisches Institut (ETI) - Energiespeichersysteme

Das Elektrotechnische Institut (ETI) mit der Abteilung Energiespeichersysteme führt im Batterietechnikum des KIT Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten von der Batterieentwicklung bis hin zu der Gesamtsystemintegration durch.

Innerhalb der Batteriesystementwicklung werden dabei Optimierungen von Montage und Demontage zur einheitlichen und sicheren Inbetriebnahme von Speichersystemen durchgeführt. Auch die zuverlässige Steuerung der thermischen Beanspruchung sowie eine innovative und anwendungsorientierte Leistungselektronik bis auf Zellebene spielen bei der Systementwicklung eine wesentliche Rolle. Dabei werden auch die BMS-Algorithmen inklusive Prognose-Software optimiert.

Neben der Batteriesystementwicklung liegt folglich die Gesamtsystemintegration im Fokus der FuE-Arbeiten am ETI. Dabei werden alle Subsystemdaten zentral erfasst sowie eine intelligente Steuerung und Regelung des Gesamtsystems entwickelt. Parallel findet eine Optimierung der Leistungselektronik für die Netzintegration von Speichern statt, um bspw. die Regelung der Netzeinspeisung, von Inselbetrieben sowie die Bereitstellung von Netzdienstleistungen zu verbessern. Hierbei sind die intelligent verknüpften Energiesysteme und Sektorkopplungen mit integrierten Energiespeichern ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Arbeiten. Daneben werden am ETI Groß-Prototypen bis hin zu Kleinstserien von Speichersystemen entwickelt und aufgebaut.

Zur Untersuchung der Sicherheit und Effizienz von Heimspeichersystemen wurde am ETI eine Testinfrastruktur für diese Systeme aufgebaut. Dabei wird die Funktionsvalidierung von stationären Speichern in modernsten Hardware-in-the-Loop Prüfständen integriert, was ein einzigartiges Messverfahren darstellt. Weiterhin sind über 100 Photovoltaik-Testanlagen, Wechselrichter verschiedener Hersteller und Lastsimulationen am Solarspeicherpark integriert und werden seit der Inbetriebnahme in 2013 untersucht.

 

Stationäre Speichersysteme

 

Sicherheit von Batterien

Großspeicherlösung im eLab 2.0

Solarspeicherpark

Redox-Flow-Speichersystem

 

 

 

Abgeschlossene Forschungsarbeiten

 

 

E-City Bus Demonstrator