Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Redox Flow Storage System

Außenansicht RF-Speicher
Redox-Flow-Storage System (r.) and Large-scale Lithium-Ion Storage Systems (l.)
Innenraum Redox-Flow
View into the Redox-Flow Storage System at the KIT

An essential part of energy system transformation is the storing of energy from fluctuating generators by various storage systems suitable for the application, in considering of an intelligent energy use and increasing energy efficiency. In addition, a redox flow storage system was procured and set up to simulate future grid situations at KIT in the real laboratory. The main idea of such a storage system is to decouple the electrical power from the storage capacity; the system topology of a redox flow battery allows the stored energy to be scaled independently of the storage capacity, as the amount of electrolyte in the tanks or the size of the tanks is flexible.

The redox-flow storage system installed in April 2019, consisting of an energy part (electrolyte tank), a power part (electrochemical cells and DC/DC conversion) and a grid connection part (DC/AC conversion) in separate containers, has a nominal output of 200 kW and a nominal energy content of 800 kWh. To integrate the storage facility into the KIT test infrastructure, a higher-level control and data acquisition system was developed. This allows various operating strategies to be implemented.

In the first step, the redox flow storage is primarily used to store the PV energy to limit the power fed into the grid and to make the stored energy available for later use. In long-term, a common operating strategy for the redox-flow and lithium-ion storage will be developed in order to combine the properties and advantages of the two storage systems.

 

Contact Partner: Dr. Hardi Hoimoja

 

Further Information

Datasheet Redox flow storage

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Redox-Flow-Speichersystem

Außenansicht RF-Speicher
Außenansicht des Redox-Flow-Speichersystems (r.) und des Li-Ionen Großspeichers (l.)
Innenraum Redox-Flow
Innenraum des Redox-Flow-Speichersystems am KIT

Ein essentieller Bestandteil der Energiewende ist die Speicherung von Energie aus fluktuierenden Erzeugern durch verschiedene, zur Anwendung passende Speichersysteme unter Berücksichtigung intelligenter Energienutzung und Erhöhung der Energieeffizienz. Um zukünftige Netzsituationen am KIT im Reallabor nachzubilden wurde ein Redox-Flow-Speichersystem beschafft und aufgebaut. Die Kernidee eines solchen Speichers ist die Entkopplung der elektrischen Leistung von der Speicherkapazität; Durch die Systemtopologie einer Redox-Flow-Batterie lässt sich die gespeicherte Energie unabhängig von der Speicherleistung skalieren, da die Elektrolytmenge in den Tanks, bzw. die Größe der Tanks flexibel ist.

Das im April 2019 installierte Redox-Flow-Speichersystem, bestehend aus einem Energieteil (Elektrolytbehälter), Leistungsteil (elektrochemische Zellen und DC/DC Umwandlung) und Netzankopplungsteil (DC/AC Wandlung) in separaten Containern, hat eine Nennleistung von 200 kW und Nennenergieinhalt von 800 kWh. Um die Speicheranlage in die Versuchsinfrastruktur des KIT zu integrieren wurde ein übergeordnetes Steuerung-und Datenerfassungssystem entwickelt. Damit lassen sich verschiedene Betriebsstrategien verwirklichen.

Im ersten Schritt wird der Redox-Flow-Speicher zunächst für das Speichern der PV-Überschüsse eingesetzt um die ins Stromnetz eingespeiste Leistung zu begrenzen und die gespeicherte Energie später zur Verfügung zu stellen. Langfristig wird eine gemeinsame Betriebsstrategie des Redox-Flow- und Lithium-Ionen-Großspeichers erarbeitet um die Eigenschaften und Vorteile der beiden Speichersysteme zu kombinieren.

 

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Hardi Hoimoja

 

Weitere Informationen

Datenblatt