Battery Technology Center

Off-Grid Hybrid Storage Systems

Grid-independent hybrid energy systems (OHRES) use renewable resources such as wind and solar energy as well as backup generators to provide electricity in unreliable grid regions. A major challenge of these systems is the lack of reliable data to assess the technical and economic performance of systems in different regions. This is due to the lack of standardisation of technical and economic analyses for off-grid hybrid systems.

The KIT started 2017 with the support of "Affordable Energy for Humanity Global Change" (AE4H), a technical-economic study on OHRES systems. The aim is to perform a contrasting techno-economic analysis and system design optimization of two similar wind/solar OHRES systems installed in locations with very different climatic and economic conditions - Canada and Uganda. The aim is to understand how technical, economic and ecological interrelationships influence the economic feasibility and sustainability of OHRES systems.

Since August 2019, KIT's first OHRES has been in operation in a low-network region in Nemaiah Valley (British Columbia, Canada). The system is the main source of energy for a Canadian family household and provides reliable power for everyday life in the area without access to the grid.

The OHRES includes hybrid energy resources as solar PV, Genset and a small wind turbine (which will be integrated next year). In addition to newly integrated 48V DC Hybrid Li-ion and Lead-acid Hybrid battery system which expected to bring major technical and economic benefits, compared the traditional approach of a single technology (lead-acid or Li-ion Only) use.

 

Further information: https://ae4h.org/projects/ohres

 

Contact person: M.Sc.-Eng. Mohamed Mamdouh Elkadragy

 

Off-Grid-System in Kanada
Off-Grid Hybrid Renewable Electricity Systems in Canada

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Off-Grid Hybrid Speichersysteme

Off-Grid-System in Kanada
Off-Grid Hybrid Renewable Electricity Systems in Kanada

Netzunabhängige hybride Energiesysteme (OHRES) nutzen erneuerbare Ressourcen wie Wind- und Sonnenenergie sowie Backup-Generatoren, um Strom in unzuverlässigen Netzregionen bereitzustellen. Eine große Herausforderung dieser Systeme ist das Fehlen zuverlässiger Daten zur Beurteilung der technischen und wirtschaftlichen Leistungsfähigkeit von Systemen in verschiedenen Regionen. Dies liegt an der mangelnden Standardisierung der technischen und wirtschaftlichen Analysen für Off-Grid Hybrid Systeme.

Das KIT startete 2017 mit Unterstützung von „Affordable Energy for Humanity Global Change“ (AE4H), eine technisch-wirtschaftliche Studie über OHRES-Systeme. Ziel ist es, eine kontrastierende techno-ökonomische Analyse und Systemdesignoptimierung von zwei ähnlichen Wind-/Solar-OHRES-Systemen durchzuführen, die an Standorten mit sehr unterschiedlichen klimatischen und wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen - Kanada und Uganda - installiert wurden. Ziel ist es zu verstehen, wie technische, wirtschaftliche und ökologische Zusammenhänge die wirtschaftliche Machbarkeit und Nachhaltigkeit von OHRES-Systemen beeinflussen.

Seit August 2019 ist das erste OHRES des KIT in einer netzarmen Region in Nemaiah Valley (British Columbia, Kanada) in Betrieb. Das System ist die Hauptenergiequelle für einen kanadischen Familienhaushalt und liefert zuverlässigen Strom, der für das tägliche Leben in diesem Gebiet ohne Zugang zum Stromnetz laufen soll.

Neben dem neu integrierten 48V DC Hybrid Li-Ionen- und Blei-Säure-Hybridbatteriesystem, das nach aktuellem Kenntnisstand große technische und wirtschaftliche Vorteile bringen wird, wurde der traditionelle Ansatz einer einzelnen Technologie (Blei-Säure bzw. nur Li-Ionen) verglichen.

 

Weitere Informationen: https://ae4h.org/projects/ohres

 

Ansprechpartner: M.Sc.-Eng. Mohamed Mamdouh Elkadragy